Nordic Music Prize

Previous winners


The first Nordic Music Prize was won by Iceland’s Jónsi for his solo debut, GO, and was presented to the artist by H.R.H. The Crown Prince Of Norway during by:Larm in Oslo in February 2011.

The jury stated:

The music of the winner could only have been made here, in the North. It sounds and almost smells like Iceland. It’s brave and life affirming pop music that grabs you by the heart in flamboyant technicolour.

Jonsi wins first Nordic Music Prize at by:Larm 2011 from Millimedia on Vimeo.

The other 11 nominees were:

• Dungen Skit i allt
• Paleface Helsinki – Shangri-La
• Susanne Sundfør The Brothel
• Robyn Body talk
• Efterklang Magic Chairs
• Serena Maneesh S-M 2: Abyss in B Minor
• The Radio Dept. Clinging to a scheme
• Ólöf Arnalds Innundir skinni
• Kvelertak Kvelertak
• First Aid Kit The big black & the blue
• Frisk Frugt Dansktoppen møder Burkina Faso i det himmelblå rum hvor solen bor, suite.

The second Nordic Music Prize was won by Sweden’s Goran Kajfes

The jury states:

A very distinctive voice unexpectedly united the jury, everybody instantly recognized the love that has gone into the playing and, also, the packaging. It’s an ambitious and warm fusion of sonic elements, from jazz with both african and eastern influences to electronica.

This double album really does something that is quite rare: it communicates the pure joy of music.

Nordic Music Prize 2011 – and the winner is…? from Millimedia on Vimeo.

The other 11 nominees were:

• Ane Brun – It All Starts With One

• Lykke Li – Wounded Rhymes

• Rubik – Solar

• Gus Gus – Arabian Horse

• Malk De Koijn – Toback To The Fromtime

• Siinai – Olympic Games

• Björk – Biophilia

• Iceage – New Brigade

• Montée – Renditions Of You

• Anna Järvinen – Anna Själv Tredje

• The Field – Looping state of mind